Puff Counter vs QuitSure: a puff counter or a six-day program
Both apps want you off nicotine, and they go about it in close to opposite ways. Everything below was checked on 22 September 2026 against quitsure.app, the QuitSure App Store listing and the QuitSure Google Play listing. Where a listing says nothing about a feature, the table below says “Not stated” rather than “No”: a missing line on a store page is not proof a feature is absent.
What QuitSure does
QuitSure sells a course. Its App Store listing says it “offers 6-day and 6-week programs” made of daily video, audio and reading, with short exercises each day and a personal coach. The website describes the method as cognitive behavioral therapy, rational emotive behavior therapy and guided self-hypnosis, and puts the work at about 10 hours over 6 to 10 days. You keep smoking or vaping while you go through it and stop on the final day, so there is no taper and no daily limit to hit.
QuitSure also publishes an outcome number, which almost no quit app does. A 2024 study in JMIR Human Factors, linked from its home page, surveyed 1,286 people who completed the program and reports that 80.1 percent self-reported stayed abstinent for 30 days or more. That is a result for people who finished the course, not a general quit rate, and it is QuitSure’s own published figure rather than one we have checked. Puff Counter has nothing to set against it.
Tracking is deliberately light. The QuitSure home page lists “No Tracking” among its selling points and calls tracking cigarettes annoying and impractical, though both store listings describe a cigarette tracker: the Play listing calls it the only tracker where you “log each cigarette smoked”, and the App Store listing lists “a quit smoking tracker for cigarettes, progress, and milestones”. Neither the site nor either listing mentions puffs or home screen widgets.
What Puff Counter does
Puff Counter counts. You log a puff in one tap, from the app or from the small home screen widget, and you get today’s count, an hourly chart, a calendar you can edit and a timer showing how long it has been since your last puff. It estimates the nicotine in a puff and in a day from the e-liquid strength and the puff volume you set. All of that is free, and it works without an account. Signing in with Google or Apple adds a cloud backup that comes back on a new phone.
Premium adds the quit plan, which is the piece QuitSure has no equivalent of. You choose a start date and a quit date, or a tapering pace, and the app sets a daily puff limit from your own average and lowers it step by step. Premium also adds daily, weekly and monthly statistics and the larger widgets.
Puff Counter has no course, no coach, no community and no published study. If you want someone to talk you through quitting, it is not that app.
What they have in common
Both are free to download and both cover vaping rather than cigarettes alone. Both sell through the App Store and Google Play with in-app purchases, and both are rated 18 and over on the App Store. Neither one is medical care. If you vape heavily, or you have quit and relapsed several times, a stop smoking service or your doctor can offer help that neither app provides.
What the stores charged on 22 September 2026
Prices vary by country and change; the store listing is the source of truth. On the US App Store that day, Puff Counter Premium showed $4.99 monthly, $14.99 yearly and $39.99 for lifetime access, and its US Play listing showed in-app purchases of $4.99 to $39.99, with a “Contains ads” label. QuitSure’s US App Store listing showed program purchases between $9.99 and $49.99 after a 3-day free trial, and its US Play listing showed a much wider range, $0.49 to $199.99 per item, with no ads. QuitSure’s Play listing also promises a money-back guarantee. Puff Counter offers none, so only your store’s refund rules apply.
Which one suits you
QuitSure suits you if you want structure and a fixed end date, can give it about an hour a day for a week, and prefer a course with a coach to a number on a screen.
Puff Counter suits you if you do not yet know how much you vape, want to watch that number before committing to a quit date, or want a taper you set yourself. Your real daily count is usually the first useful thing you learn. Quitting vaping timeline covers what the first weeks feel like, how to quit vaping cold turkey covers stopping at once versus cutting down, and the quit vaping hub links the rest.
You can run both
Nothing stops you using the two together. Count your puffs for a week or two to get a baseline, start the QuitSure program with that number in hand, then keep counting through your quit day so you can see what changed. They answer different questions, so one does not cancel out the other.
This page is general information about vaping, smoking and quitting, not medical advice. If you are worried about your health or want help quitting, talk to a doctor or a stop-smoking service.
| Feature | Puff Counter | QuitSure |
|---|---|---|
| What the app is | A puff counter, with an optional plan that lowers a daily limit to your quit date. | A psychology-based course: the App Store listing says QuitSure 'offers 6-day and 6-week programs' of daily video, audio and reading. |
| Counting puffs | One tap, in the app or from the small home screen widget. Tap a day in the calendar to add or remove puffs in bulk. | Not stated. The Play listing describes cigarettes, not puffs: 'The only tracker where you can log each cigarette smoked.' |
| Daily limit or taper | Premium. Sets a daily limit from your own average and lowers it step by step to your quit date. | Not part of the method. The App Store listing says you keep smoking through the program and quit on the final day. |
| Nicotine estimate | Free. Per puff and per day, from the e-liquid strength and puff volume you enter. | Not stated on the site or on either store listing. |
| Home screen widgets | Small widget free on iPhone and Android. Medium, large and lock screen widgets are Premium. | Not stated on the site or on either store listing. |
| Works without an account | Yes. Sign in with Google or Apple only if you want a cloud backup. | Not stated on the site or on either store listing. |
| Free tier | Counting, the calendar, the hourly chart, the nicotine estimate, the timer and the small widget, with no time limit. | The Play listing says the introductory part of the program is free; the App Store listing offers a 3-day free trial, then a paid subscription, and the Play listing says there are no ads. |
| Price on 22 September 2026 | Free app. US App Store: Premium $4.99 monthly, $14.99 yearly, $39.99 lifetime. US Play: in-app purchases $4.99 to $39.99. | Free download. US App Store: program purchases $9.99 to $49.99. US Play: in-app purchases $0.49 to $199.99 per item. |
| Languages | 39 in the app itself, though its App Store listing names only English. | The App Store listing names 7: English, French, German, Hindi, Japanese, Portuguese and Spanish. |
| Platforms | iPhone, iPad and Android. iOS 15.0 or later, Android 7.0 or later. | iPhone and Android. The App Store listing requires iOS 16.1 or later and also lists Apple Vision. |
| Data export or backup | Cloud backup when you sign in, restored on a new phone. No export file. | Not stated. The Play data safety section says you can request that data be deleted. |
| Coach, course and community | None of the three. | The App Store listing lists a personal coach, daily content and a community; the Play listing adds experts available 24 hours a day. |
| Published outcome study | None. | A 2024 JMIR Human Factors study of 1,286 program completers, linked from quitsure.app: 80.1 percent stayed abstinent for 30 days or more. |
| Money-back guarantee | None. Your store's refund rules apply. | The Play listing says 'We provide 100% money-back guarantee'. |
Questions people also ask
Does QuitSure work?
QuitSure's own numbers are the best evidence on offer: a 2024 study in JMIR Human Factors surveyed 1,286 people who completed its program and found 80.1 percent stayed abstinent for 30 days or more. That is QuitSure's own published figure for people who finished the course, not an independent trial and not a general quit rate for everyone who starts it.
How long is the QuitSure program?
6 days or 6 weeks, by the App Store listing, with daily video, audio and reading and a personal coach. QuitSure's own site puts the total work at about 10 hours over 6 to 10 days. You keep smoking or vaping through the program and stop on the final day, so there is no taper or daily limit to hit.
What is the best quitting tool for vaping?
Nothing beats knowing your own number first. Most people underestimate how much they vape, and a week of honest counting gives you the baseline every plan needs. After that a taper, a course or a stop smoking service are all reasonable next steps.
What is the most effective way to quit vaping?
No app settles this. Health services put a quit date, a plan for the first few days and real support ahead of any single tool. Our page on how to quit vaping cold turkey sets out what the research says about stopping at once versus cutting down first.
